The Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg conference centre – with its restaurant 'De Vrienden van Jacob' that was awarded a Michelin star in 2005 – offers everything to the highest quality and standards expected today. The centre houses five large modern meeting rooms and four smaller ones. Additionally, the estate has five authentic and inspiring stylised rooms that are well equipped to hold a workshop, meeting or training session. The estate's most unique feature is its history, which is still clearly present today.
The Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg country estate has a unique history, in which the Royal Family even played a role. In 1682, Stadholder William III purchased the Kruidberg Estate, which quickly became known informally as 't Princenbosch (the Prince’s forest). The prince used the luxurious grounds as a hunting retreat. It appeared to be a smaller version of his palace Het Loo in Apeldoorn. In 1895, Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate was purchased by Jacob Theodoor Cremer, president of the Nederlandsche Handel Maatschappij. He ordered the construction of the largest residence in the Netherlands, headed by the architect J.J. van Nieukerken. The garden architect, L.A. Springer, designed the splendid gardens and lake, in the English country style. At this formal location, Duin & Kruidberg became a conference and training centre for ABN AMRO Bank in 1993. Three years later, the estate was extended to a conference centre with five conference rooms, four smaller rooms and a Business Centre. Later a new luxurious hotel wing was added to accommodate guests.
Royal secret, finally open to the public
For centuries the estate has been privately owned. At the start of 2002, Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg officially opened its doors to the public. Since then both business and private guests have been welcome to visit. A long kept ''royal' secret was finally open to the wider public!